Friday, 6 November 2015

Google Renames Hindi Keyboard to Indic Keyboard, Gets Support for 10 Indian Languages

Google has renamed its Hindi Keyboard to Indic Keyboard and has also added support for 10 more Indian languages in the latest update. The 10 languages supported by the Google Indic Keyboard, apart from Hindi, include Assamese, Bengali, Gujurati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu.

Indic Keyboard
Indic Keyboard
The new Indic Keyboard comes with different modes including transliteration mode, which offers output in native language by spelling out the pronunciation using English letters; native keyboard mode offers typing directly in native script, and the Handwriting mode, currently available for Hindi only, allowing users to write on the phone screen directly. There is a Hinglish mode as well that suggests both English and Hinglish terms. According to Google Play listing, the new Indic Keyboard comes with improved suggestions in both transliteration mode and native keyboard mode in Hindi. The UI for switching modes has been also updated.

Download Indic Keyboard from here.

No comments:

Post a Comment