Wednesday, 15 April 2015

YouTube Adds Support for 15 New Languages Including Nepali, Punjabi

Google is trying its best to engage more YouTube users, with the move to add support for 15 new languages.

According to the firm, YouTube has added support for 15 new languages, bringing the total language support count to 76. YouTube says that by adding these new 15 languages, it will be covering 95 percent of the Internet population.

The 15 new languages added in YouTube are Azerbaijani - Azerbaycan, Armenian, Georgian, Kazakh, Khmer, Kirghiz, Lao, Macedonian, Mongolian, Myanmar (Burmese), Nepali, Punjabi, Sinhala, Albanian, Uzbek. It has been understood that these 15 languages are only for YouTube's website version.

Last week, Google revealed it is planning a monthly subscription service for videos, one that will let users watch YouTube videos free of ads. YouTube sent out emails to its content creators noting it is looking to offer a new paid subscription service that will give "fans an ad-free version of YouTube for a monthly fee".

Google is rumoured to price the subscription at $10 a month, just like it did with YouTube's Music Key Beta in November. The service not only allows users to access music on YouTube without ads, but also offers offline access.

In a big to attract gamers, the video portal is also said to be preparing to relaunch YouTube's live-streaming platform, YouTube Live with its focus on 'live gaming and e-sports'. The search giant is said to be looking at this segment based on the popularity of Twitch, which it reportedly tried to acquire last year.

No comments:

Post a comment