Wednesday, 1 November 2017

WhatsApp's Delete for Everyone Feature Now Rolling Out


WhatsApp, after rolling out the feature to limited users last week, has now announced official rollout of the 'Delete for Everyone' feature. This feature will be available on the latest WhatsApp versions for Android, iPhone, and Windows Phones. WhatsApp said that both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted.

The Facebook-owned service confirms messages that have been successfully deleted for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. WhatsApp clarifies that the feature will be applicable only if the user is quick enough. The company explains that users can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. This means that once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

So, how does it work? WhatsApp users looking to delete messages for everyone will have to go to the chat containing the message they wish to delete. Tap and hold the message or optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Then, tap delete (the trash icon) at the top of the screen, and select Delete for Everyone.

To delete messages for yourself, users can head to the chat containing the message they wish to delete and tap and hold the message to delete multiple messages at once. In this case, users will have to use tap Delete (the trash icon) at the top of the screen, and then select Delete for Me.